Daylight Savings Time 2013

Home / Daylight Savings Time 2013

Daylight Savings Time 2013

The clocks change twice a year for all residents of the USA, Canada, Mexico and the United Kingdom, going back once and forward once to observe daylight savings time (DST).

DST is considered to begin when the clocks go forward, welcoming summer into our lives, and DST ends when the clocks go back marking the end of the summer, welcoming winter and brining with it shorter days.

USA, Canada & Mexico

In North America DST always [flag text_color="#ffffff" bg_color="#003366"]begins on the 2nd Sunday in March[/flag] at 2.00 am local time. This rule has been in place since 2007 when DST was actually extended one month.

Daylight savings time [flag text_color="#ffffff" bg_color="#ff0099"]BEGINS in 2013 on Sunday, 10th March at 2.00 am local time[/flag] when the clocks go FORWARD 1 hour to adjust for summer time. DST [flag text_color="#ffffff" bg_color="#ff6600"]ENDS in 2013 on Sunday, 3rd November at 2.00 am local time[/flag] when the clocks go BACK 1 hour to go back onto standard time; a full list of changes by time zone is below:

Pacific Daylight Time

BEGINS and the clocks go FORWARD on Sunday 10th March 2013 at 02:00 PST (becoming 03:00 PDT)
ENDS and the clocks go BACK on Sunday 3rd November 2013 at 02:00 PDT (becoming 01:00 PST)

Mountain Daylight Time

BEGINS and the clocks go FORWARD on Sunday 10th March 2013 at 02:00 MST (becoming 03:00 MDT)
ENDS and the clocks go BACK on Sunday 3rd November 2013 at 02:00 MDT (becoming 01:00 MST)

Central Daylight Time

BEGINS and the clocks go FORWARD on Sunday 10th March 2013 at 02:00 CST (becoming 03:00 CDT)
ENDS and the clocks go BACK on Sunday 3rd November 2013 at 02:00 CDT (becoming 01:00 CST)

Eastern Daylight Time

BEGINS and the clocks go FORWARD on Sunday 10th March 2013 at 02:00 EST (becoming 03:00 EDT)
ENDS and the clocks go BACK on Sunday 3rd November 2013 at 02:00 EDT (becoming 01:00 EST)

United Kingdom

In the UK they work only on one time zone which makes it slightly easier to manage, being on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) in the winter months and ‘British Summer Time’ (BST) in the Summer.

DST always [flag text_color="#ffffff" bg_color="#003366"]begins in the UK on the last Sunday in March[/flag] every year and always ends on the last Sunday in October.

DST [flag text_color="#ffffff" bg_color="#ff0099"]BEGINS in the UK in 2013 on Sunday, 31 March at 01.00 am GMT[/flag] (becoming 02.00 BST) when the clocks go FORWARD 1 hour.

DST [flag text_color="#ffffff" bg_color="#ff6600"]ENDS in the UK in 2013 on Sunday, 27 October at 02.00 am BST[/flag] (becoming 01.00 GMT) when the clocks go BACK 1 hour.

Why Do The Clocks Change at 2.00 AM?

Ever wondered why the clocks change at 2.00 AM and not just at midnight instead? Our latest blog post explains all.

[custom_posts entry_ids="308" template="one_fourth" hide="tags, author, categories"]
Contact Us

Got a question or feedback, drop us a quick line here...